UPCOMING EVENT: T-H Marine BFL - 2019 - Lake Okeechobee

FISHING LEAGUE WORLDWIDE

/tips/2018-12-04-review-graph-glass

Review: Graph Glass

Graph Glass is a tempered screen protector that you can self-install on the most popular models of fishing electronics. For about $45 to $60 per unit, it protects the screen from flying tungsten or other projectiles, and there are other benefits as well. As far as I can tell, it’s a real winner of a product. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-27-review-berkley-maxscent-creature-hawg

Review: Berkley MaxScent Creature Hawg

Back in 2017 at ICAST I opined that the new Berkley PowerBait MaxScent lineup would be good for smallmouths and more convenient than Gulp!, but wouldn’t make much of a dent in the flipping game. Then a couple weeks ago I burned through four Berkley PowerBait MaxScent Creature Hawg packs in two days and ordered a pile more. I don’t know if the rest of the world is doing it, but I’m certainly on the way toward proving myself wrong. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-10-22-review-berkley-cane-walker

Review: Berkley Cane Walker

This summer at ICAST Berkley launched a huge lineup of new topwaters that includes poppers, walking baits, prop baits and wake baits. Of them, the first one that caught my eye – somewhat because of the attention pencil poppers have received over the last couple years – was the Cane Walker. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-09-24-review-shimano-bantam-mgl-baitcast-reel

Review: Shimano Bantam MGL Baitcast Reel

When you buy a new reel, you expect it to perform for years to come. No doubt there are plenty on the market that meet those expectations, and one of the newest options that I think has the guts to join the club is the Shimano Bantam MGL. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-09-12-product-review-teckel-sprinker-frog

Product Review: Teckel Sprinker Frog

The Teckel Sprinker frog created a lot of hype after its introduction at ICAST 2017, so much so that the company initially couldn’t produce them fast enough to keep up with the early demand. Thankfully, now the Sprinker is more readily available. I recently took it for a lengthy test drive, and can tell you it’s a unique frog that can put bass in the boat. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-09-05-review-storm-arashi-spinbait

Review: Storm Arashi Spinbait

I got to play around with spybaits a fair amount this summer, and I came away pretty impressed with the Storm Arashi Spinbait 08. Duo Realis has found its place atop the spybait category – and for good reason; the company’s baits have accounted for lots of tournament winnings over the last few years. But the Duo Realis baits are expensive at about $14. The Arashi is more affordable (around $8), and it seems to work nearly or just as well as its more expensive counterpart. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-07-19-review-team-lew-s-hypermag-speed-spool-slp

Review: Team Lew’s HyperMag Speed Spool SLP

As one of those weirdos who reels lefty, I don’t find a ton of options out there in reels with 8:1 gear ratios. This reel was my first experience with one. It was also my first time regularly fishing with a $300 reel that weighs less than 6 ounces. Though quite expensive, I’m happy to report that the Team Lew’s HyperMag Speed Spool SLP Series reel is extremely nice. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-05-25-review-lew-s-mark-rose-small-crankbait-rod

Review: Lew’s Mark Rose Small Crankbait Rod

Great relationships are mutually beneficial. Case in point: Since beginning to design rods for Lew’s in late 2016, Mark Rose has used the company’s rods to win back-to-back FLW Tour events, and Lew’s has benefitted from his expertise in the design of a successful series of ledge-fishing-specific rods. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-03-29-riot-baits-lil-creeper-review

Riot Baits Lil’ Creeper Review

A bit of an offshoot of the popular finesse jigs made by Keitech, the Riot Baits Lil’ Creeper purports to do the job just as well or better for a cheaper price. It’s an American-made alternative designed by Bassmaster Elite Series pro and smallmouth expert Jamie Hartman (he’s got five T-H Marine FLW Bass Fishing League AOY points titles to his credit, too), and it’s pretty dang good. Regretfully, I haven’t tangled with any smallmouths in my time with the jig, but I’ve caught plenty of largemouths on it to sell me. READ MORE »

/tips/2017-12-01-review-berkley-snap-jig

Review: Berkley Snap Jig

The Snap Jig appears to be a spinoff of the popular Rapala Jigging Rap and Snap Rap, which I mention not to knock Berkley for going the copycat route, but for background on why folks would get excited about a bait that looks more like ice fishing fodder than bass food. READ MORE »

/tips/2017-09-19-review-z-man-chatterbait-jack-hammer

Review: Z-Man ChatterBait Jack Hammer

READ MORE »

/tips/2017-09-13-review-gene-larew-8-inch-tattletail-worm

Review: Gene Larew 8-inch TattleTail Worm

Gene Larew has sold a 6-inch TattleTail Worm for a while now, but the 8-inch model came out in the spring. FLW Tour pro Andrew Upshaw has already won a T-H Marine FLW Bass Fishing League (BFL) derby with it on Toledo Bend (with 30 pounds!), and it looks like a winner of a worm. I’ve had a few packs since late May, and I’m happy to confirm that they catch fish. READ MORE »

/tips/2017-09-08-review-yamamoto-zako

Review: Yamamoto Zako

Brett Hite is probably the world’s premier vibrating jig angler, so it’s no surprise that he’d have a hand in making one of the better trailers for them. The Yamamoto Zako is a sweet little trailer that excels at its primary application. READ MORE »

/tips/2017-07-06-costa-sunrise-silver-mirror-lens-review

Costa Sunrise Silver Mirror Lens Review

Costa Sunglasses makes a wide range of glasses and lenses targeted at about everyone – from folks who want to look cool at the beach to anglers looking for tarpon on the flats. The Sunrise Silver Mirror lens is probably the most bass-angler targeted lens yet, and I think it’s a real success. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-08-review-lew-s-custom-speed-stick-lite

Review: Lew’s Custom Speed Stick Lite

Recently I had the opportunity to try one model in particular – the 7-foot, 4-inch Magnum Pitchin’ rod. After fishing with it several times, I’ve concluded that it performs as advertised, is sensitive and lightweight, and is well worth the money. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-03-31-m-pack-lures-jig-review-

M-Pack Lures Jig Review

Born in Texas, M-Pack Lures’ flagship products are a trio of jigs – football, flipping and swim-jig models – that feature an innovative Structure Guard system said to make the jigs more weedless and snagless than was previously possible. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-12-08-sunline-assassin-fc-review

Sunline Assassin FC Review

Sunline was considered an expensive brand at one time, but its range of well-respected line offerings has turned the company into a staple for many anglers. This summer at ICAST, Sunline unveiled Assassin FC, a mid-priced fluorocarbon line with P-Ion processing. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-11-10-review-hammer-fishing-rods

Review: Hammer Fishing Rods

In 2012, Shane Cox took a chance on a company and an industry that he loves. He purchased Hammer Fishing Rods and set out to grow its brand through local tournaments on Pickwick Lake. These American-made rods are now grabbing the attention of anglers across the country. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-10-06-kistler-helium-3-mad-rod-review

Kistler Helium 3 MAD rod review

Walmart FLW Tour pro Mark Daniels Jr. teamed up with Kistler Rods to create his own signature series stick – the Helium 3 MAD series. Daniels grew up fishing the California Detla, so it’s no surprise that the MAD is a heavy-power, moderate-action, 7-foot, 11-inch rod designed to haul bass from heavy cover. After watching him put the rod to work over the course of the 2015 season, I decided to take it for a spin myself. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-10-02-livetarget-sunfish-hollow-body-review

LIVETARGET Sunfish Hollow Body Review

After some intense video clips and winning the ICAST Best of Show Soft Lure award, the LIVETARGET Hollow Body Sunfish came with quite a bit of build-up. Due to a heftier price tag, consumers will undoubtedly look for the Sunfish to truly set itself apart and live up to the hype. READ MORE »