UPCOMING EVENT: T-H Marine BFL - 2019 - Lake Okeechobee

FISHING LEAGUE WORLDWIDE

Review: Graph Glass

Graph Glass

This spring, I installed a sheet of Graph Glass on a new 10-inch graph at the console of my boat. Six months later, it’s going strong, and I’m happy to have it every day I fish.

Graph Glass is a tempered screen protector that you can self-install on the most popular models of fishing electronics. For about $45 to $60 per unit, it protects the screen from flying tungsten or other projectiles, and there are other benefits as well. As far as I can tell, it’s a real winner of a product.

 

Solid protection

Graph Glass is the brainchild of FLW Tour pro John Hunter, and he’s been using it or prototypes of it on his Lowrance units for about two years now. According to Graph Glass, the product is “explosion proof” and tested to be very resistant to scratches. It’s also touch friendly, just like a screen protector on a phone, so it’ll work on all the touch screens that come on most every Lowrance unit.

Previously, I hadn’t thought much about screen protectors for my graphs. I’ve seen my share of busted screens, but they have always been on someone else’s boat. I haven’t gone out and taken a hammer to my graph to test it, but based on the existing market for screen protectors and everything I can tell about Graph Glass, it seems like a product that’s almost essential on larger, more expensive units. I know for sure that it’s given me a lot more confidence to trailer down dirt roads, and taken the fear out of missed hooksets on the back deck.

 

The visuals

There are standard and anti-glare models available, and both are easy to see through. Off the screen, the anti-glare versions have a frosted or matte finish, but once you turn the screen on it’s not noticeable. Hunter says the anti-glare models have been a huge hit, and that, although you lose a little transparency, the amount of glare you get on bright days is dramatically less than you’d get on a unit without Graph Glass or with the standard version.

With the standard model, the screen is definitely slightly dimmer on really bright days, but I don’t think you’re missing out on much, especially when you get used to it. I know that I’ve spent plenty of summertime hours idling around with my eyes trained to my graph, and I haven’t once thought about taking the Graph Glass off.

 

My favorite perk

It’s not the main point of the product, but my favorite thing about Graph Glass might be the oleophobic coating on it. That coating is oil resistant and essentially means that any smudge you do get on the screen will wipe right off. Compared to my older unit next to it, I can get the screen with Graph Glass significantly cleaner, and it starts out cleaner as well. It’s really night and day, and once you get used to screens that are actually clean it’s hard to go back.

 

The install

Like a screen protector for a cell phone, Graph Glass sticks right on the screen of your graph. It comes with a wipe and a microfiber towel in the package to prep the screen, and the instructions to install it are clear and easy. I’m terrible at putting stickers on things, so I was a little concerned, but after cleaning the screen thoroughly and sticking it on carefully, I believe my install was a success. Because Graph Glass is rigid, it’s fairly easy to line up and make sure you get it on how you want it. With more than six months use, I haven’t seen it even begin to come off.

John Hunter install video

 

The verdict

I’m all-in on Graph Glass. There isn’t a size for every unit on the market, but they cover most of the more popular ones. I think especially if you have a graph with a really big screen it’s an add-on that you should consider. The price seems pretty fair to me as well, especially when you consider the amount of money at stake. Beyond the initial purchase price of a modern 10-inch electronics unit, it can cost upward of $300 to get a new screen installed, and on top of that you’re without the unit while it’s off getting fixed.

 

Details

Company: Graph Glass  

Product: Graph Glass

Models: Sizes for most current Lowrance and other units

Price: $42.99 to $59.99

Tags: product-review  bass-fishing  depth-finder  lowrance  jody-white  tech-tackle-reviews 

/news/2019-01-15-top-10-baits-from-sam-rayburn

Top 10 Baits from Sam Rayburn

Fishing deep-diving crankbait, dragging Carolina rigs and working finesse baits such as drop-shots were the keys to success at the FLW Tour opener at Sam Rayburn. Here are the bass-fishing baits that the top pros used. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-09-cecil-s-final-morning-of-practice

Cecil’s Final Morning of Practice

Russell Cecil is one of a number of standout Texas anglers fishing the FLW Tour opener this week on Sam Rayburn. After a lackluster rookie campaign in 2018, fishing near home is a great opportunity for the Willis, Texas, pro to get the year started off strong. Though the conditions are far from normal, a few hours on the final day of practice reveal that Cecil certainly has a read on the bass. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-figuring-out-rayburn-with-powell

Figuring Out Rayburn with Powell

Hensley Powell has quickly and quietly amassed quite a record with FLW. In just three years fishing the Costa FLW Series, he’s earned over $90,000, and he got a win at Table Rock in the Central Division in 2018. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-sam-rayburn-lake-tour

Sam Rayburn Lake Tour

This year, the FLW Tour kicks off in Texas with a showdown presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn. Big Sam hasn’t hosted too many FLW Tour events in the past, but it’s loaded with bass and bass fishing history. The lake is much higher than normal right now, which will no doubt produce different fishing than is typical for winter on Rayburn. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-06-top-10-baits-from-lake-amistad

Top 10 Baits from Lake Amistad

Wintertime bass fishing tactics dominated at Lake Amistad in January, as the top finishers relied on jerkbaits, crankbaits, drop-shots, swimbaits and umbrella rigs to get the job done. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-06-practice-starts-at-rayburn

Practice Starts at Rayburn

Day one of practice for the FLW Tour presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn started this morning. We hung around takeoff to see friends we haven't seen in months and to get the season underway.  READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-05-hanselman-wins-costa-flw-series-season-opener-on-lake-amistad-presented-by-ranger-boats

Hanselman Wins Costa FLW Series Season Opener on Lake Amistad Presented by Ranger Boats

DEL RIO, Texas – Local pro Ray Hanselman of Del Rio, brought five bass weighing 12 pounds, 1 ounce, to the scale Saturday to win the 2019 season-opening Costa FLW Series at Lake Amistad presented by Ranger Boats. The tournament was shortened from three days to two after... READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-05-amistad-midday-update-day-3

Amistad Midday Update - Day 3

Lake Amistad was in a stingy mood for the final day of Costa FLW Series Southwestern Division action, as evidenced by a lot of long-faced anglers with lots of vacancy in their livewells. A slightly warmer day began with flat, calm conditions, but a light breeze was gaining some consistency by early afternoon. It’s possible that the growing ripples may break up the surface enough to stimulate a few fish into chasing reaction baits. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-04-high-water-will-factor-at-rayburn

High Water will Factor at Rayburn

Typical winter fishing on Sam Rayburn would call for a lot of lipless crankbaits, Carolina rigs and a focus on offshore structure and submerged grass. However, for the FLW Tour opener January 10-13 a lot of that may be out the window – or at least a lot different than many of the Rayburn sticks in the field are used to. Sam Rayburn has risen steadily since December 10th, and as of January 3, the lake is at 171.43 feet, which is 7 feet over full pool of 164.4 feet. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-04-top-5-patterns-from-lake-amistad-day-2

Top 5 Patterns From Lake Amistad – Day 2

Wintertime bass fishing tactics are in play at Lake Amistad for the Costa FLW Series opener. The tactics used today offer a good how-to lesson in dealing with early season conditions. READ MORE »

/tips/2019-01-02-2019-rookie-rundown

2019 Rookie Rundown

No matter how you get to the FLW Tour, you’re only a rookie once. This year, 34 pros are taking their talents on Tour for the first time. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-how-to-catch-winter-spotted-bass

How to Catch Winter Spotted Bass

Some of the best fishing of the year in the South occurs on the reservoirs with spotted bass in Georgia and the Carolinas. As a guide on Lake Lanier, FLW Tour pro Rob Jordan is adept at staying on the spots all winter. He knows when to fish deep or go shallow, and how to apply a jigging spoon, jig, underspin and crankbait to take full advantage of the opportunities. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-rookie-profile-ron-nelson

Rookie Profile: Ron Nelson  

While plenty of the Tour’s new pros have impressive resumes, few boast records as well-rounded and superlative as Ron Nelson’s. After years of success at the Costa FLW Series level, it’s finally time to see what the Michigan angler can do against the best in the nation.   READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-17-young-healed-ready-for-another-shot

Young Healed, Ready for Another Shot

You could say Young has the right attitude to survive the ups and downs of the pro fishing circuit, and if the 2019 season turns out to be his best so far, like it’s shaping up to be, a positive state of mind might be the biggest reason why. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-14-how-to-fish-umbrella-rigs-for-bass

How to Fish Umbrella Rigs for Bass

Castable umbrella rigs, also called Alabama rigs or A-rigs, were first deployed in tournament bass fishing by Paul Elias in the 2011 FLW Tour Open on Lake Guntersville. Since then, they’ve garnered a lot of controversy and caught a lot of bass. READ MORE »

/news/2018-12-13-batts-signs-with-georgia-go-fish-education-center

Batts Signs with Georgia Go Fish Education Center

FLW Tour pro Clayton Batts has signed a sponsorship deal with the Go Fish Education Center in Perry, Georgia. The Center’s facilities, programs and outreach directly support the mission to promote and enhance boating and fishing tourism in Georgia and to boost economic development in communities across the state. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-10-pro-recommended-holiday-gifts

Pro-Recommended Holiday Gifts

Professional anglers know a thing or two about catching fish. They also know all about the best products that can aid in the cause. From maintaining gear to staying safe and efficient on the water to catching fish (and keeping warm and dry in the process), these FLW pros’ holiday gift recommendations are perfect for just about everyone. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-10-sinking-a-staysee-for-winter-bass

Sinking a Staysee for Winter Bass

Fishing late and early in the season is often challenging. Because the water is cold, it can take a lot more patience to find fish or to coax them into biting. If you truly want to put your patience to the test, you might consider fishing a jerkbait ultra-slow. If you want to try for superhuman patience, you might want to fish a jerkbait like Cody Murray. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-06-luke-dunkin-is-pulling-back-the-curtain

Luke Dunkin is Pulling Back the Curtain

With Luke Dunkin, what you see is what you get. And you get to see a lot. The three-year FLW pro is all about authenticity – the kind of authenticity that only comes from pulling back the curtain to reveal everything that happens in the life of a Tour angler. As Dunkin puts it, “it’s not all roses.” But make no mistake: None of that is breaking Dunkin. In fact, those sometimes-hard-to-stomach drawbacks to fishing professionally are exactly what motivate Dunkin to do what he loves nearly as much as fishing – letting other people into that life. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-05-hallman-s-5-go-to-baits-for-new-lakes

Hallman’s 5 Go-To Baits for New Lakes

Deciding how best to figure things out on a new lake is one of the toughest challenges Tour pros and regular anglers alike encounter. Sometimes familiarity with the style of lake makes it easy, but other times you eventually need to stretch well outside of your comfort zone. Bradley Hallman has had success all over the country, and he’s got a stable of baits that he likes to rely on early in the process of breaking down a new lake. Your starting baits might be a little different, but Hallman’s approach to new water is worth considering. READ MORE »