UPCOMING EVENT: T-H Marine BFL - 2019 - Lake Okeechobee

FISHING LEAGUE WORLDWIDE

Review: Team Lew’s HyperMag Speed Spool SLP

Team Lew’s HyperMag Speed Spool SLP

As one of those weirdos who reels lefty, I don’t find a ton of options out there in reels with 8:1 gear ratios. This reel was my first experience with one. It was also my first time regularly fishing with a $300 reel that weighs less than 6 ounces. Though quite expensive, I’m happy to report that the Team Lew’s HyperMag Speed Spool SLP Series reel is extremely nice.

 

It looks and feels sweet

In hand and out of the box, the HyperMag is a really slick reel. It’s got a standard low-profile look and a really nice sleek gray finish. The SLP in the name stands for “Super Low Profile,” and it is one of the lowest-profile reels that Lew’s makes, but you won’t notice anything too out of the ordinary if you’re used to newer or smaller reels. There’s a pretty dramatic difference in the feel of the HyperMag and an old Shimano Curado 201E7, but most new reels and even some high-end dinosaurs like the old Abu Garcia REVO Premier are comparable.

I’ve been fishing it since December, and I’ve very much enjoyed using it, but it isn’t so much better or different than some of my other reels that I can’t stand to use them. Of course, if I was swapping between it and an old Curado on the same rod I’m sure I’d really feel it.

 

Casts like a champ

This is the fourth Lew’s model I’ve owned, and like basically all of them it casts very well. The Lew’s SuperDuty doesn’t really fly a bait, but I’ve got a Tournament MB Speed Spool LFS Series that launches and a pair of Team Lew’s Lite Speed Spool LFS Series reels that can pretty much cast all the line off the spool. I’ve noticed the HyperMag has a tendency to slightly backlash at the midpoint of the cast if it isn’t adjusted perfectly, but it’s easy to train your thumb or make a tweak to tone things down when that does happen. So far, the HyperMag casts just as well or better than the Team Lew’s Lite reels and seems to be built more solidly as well.

 

About the extra bells and whistles

The HyperMag is mostly a straightforward premium reel, but it does have two features that are unique to Lew’s. The Speed Dial line indicator and the Speed Keeper hook keeper are both going to be useful to some folks and useless to others. Of the two, I’m using and enjoying the Speed Keeper, and I know I made fun of it the first time I saw it. It works well for hanging baits on the reel, and it’s nice and out of the way. I find it particularly convenient for the trailer hook of a spinnerbait. I don’t bother using the Speed Dial, as I either have a good enough memory or not enough reels to need that much help remembering what line is where. That said, it does adjust well and works as advertised, so you might be able to apply it in your fishing.

 

Thoughts on 8:1

One really nice thing about this reel is that it comes in both 7.5:1 and 8.3:1 gear ratios for folks who reel lefty. Oddly enough, Lew’s doesn’t make it in a 6:1, which would be nice for some applications, but having an 8.3:1 option for everyone is pretty slick. I’ve really enjoyed fishing a swim jig and dragging a jig with this reel, but I did find that I had to be very conscious about slowing things down with a swimbait over the winter. For a buzzbait, the reel is an absolute dream. I don’t see myself owning a full suite of 8:1 reels, but I think owning two or three wicked-fast reels is something everyone should consider.

 

The verdict

This is a really expensive reel. I didn’t buy it, and with my budget I’d be a tough sell at full price. Nearly $300 is a lot, especially when Lew’s has so many other really good options for quite a bit less. That said, I can’t find anything I don’t love about it. If you’ve got the money or the want, then it’s probably one of the best reels you can buy.

 

Details

Company: Lew’s

Series: Team Lew’s HyperMag Speed Spool SLP Series

Available gear ratios: 7.5:1, 8.3:1

Ball bearings: 10 double-shielded stainless-steel ball bearings

Spool capacity: 110 yards of 12-pound-test monofilament

Weight: 5.4 ounces

Warranty: one year limited warranty

Price: $299.99

 

Tags: jody-white  tech-tackle-reviews 

/news/2019-01-15-top-10-baits-from-sam-rayburn

Top 10 Baits from Sam Rayburn

Fishing deep-diving crankbait, dragging Carolina rigs and working finesse baits such as drop-shots were the keys to success at the FLW Tour opener at Sam Rayburn. Here are the bass-fishing baits that the top pros used. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-09-cecil-s-final-morning-of-practice

Cecil’s Final Morning of Practice

Russell Cecil is one of a number of standout Texas anglers fishing the FLW Tour opener this week on Sam Rayburn. After a lackluster rookie campaign in 2018, fishing near home is a great opportunity for the Willis, Texas, pro to get the year started off strong. Though the conditions are far from normal, a few hours on the final day of practice reveal that Cecil certainly has a read on the bass. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-figuring-out-rayburn-with-powell

Figuring Out Rayburn with Powell

Hensley Powell has quickly and quietly amassed quite a record with FLW. In just three years fishing the Costa FLW Series, he’s earned over $90,000, and he got a win at Table Rock in the Central Division in 2018. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-sam-rayburn-lake-tour

Sam Rayburn Lake Tour

This year, the FLW Tour kicks off in Texas with a showdown presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn. Big Sam hasn’t hosted too many FLW Tour events in the past, but it’s loaded with bass and bass fishing history. The lake is much higher than normal right now, which will no doubt produce different fishing than is typical for winter on Rayburn. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-06-practice-starts-at-rayburn

Practice Starts at Rayburn

Day one of practice for the FLW Tour presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn started this morning. We hung around takeoff to see friends we haven't seen in months and to get the season underway.  READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-04-high-water-will-factor-at-rayburn

High Water will Factor at Rayburn

Typical winter fishing on Sam Rayburn would call for a lot of lipless crankbaits, Carolina rigs and a focus on offshore structure and submerged grass. However, for the FLW Tour opener January 10-13 a lot of that may be out the window – or at least a lot different than many of the Rayburn sticks in the field are used to. Sam Rayburn has risen steadily since December 10th, and as of January 3, the lake is at 171.43 feet, which is 7 feet over full pool of 164.4 feet. READ MORE »

/tips/2019-01-02-2019-rookie-rundown

2019 Rookie Rundown

No matter how you get to the FLW Tour, you’re only a rookie once. This year, 34 pros are taking their talents on Tour for the first time. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-how-to-catch-winter-spotted-bass

How to Catch Winter Spotted Bass

Some of the best fishing of the year in the South occurs on the reservoirs with spotted bass in Georgia and the Carolinas. As a guide on Lake Lanier, FLW Tour pro Rob Jordan is adept at staying on the spots all winter. He knows when to fish deep or go shallow, and how to apply a jigging spoon, jig, underspin and crankbait to take full advantage of the opportunities. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-rookie-profile-ron-nelson

Rookie Profile: Ron Nelson  

While plenty of the Tour’s new pros have impressive resumes, few boast records as well-rounded and superlative as Ron Nelson’s. After years of success at the Costa FLW Series level, it’s finally time to see what the Michigan angler can do against the best in the nation.   READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-14-how-to-fish-umbrella-rigs-for-bass

How to Fish Umbrella Rigs for Bass

Castable umbrella rigs, also called Alabama rigs or A-rigs, were first deployed in tournament bass fishing by Paul Elias in the 2011 FLW Tour Open on Lake Guntersville. Since then, they’ve garnered a lot of controversy and caught a lot of bass. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-10-sinking-a-staysee-for-winter-bass

Sinking a Staysee for Winter Bass

Fishing late and early in the season is often challenging. Because the water is cold, it can take a lot more patience to find fish or to coax them into biting. If you truly want to put your patience to the test, you might consider fishing a jerkbait ultra-slow. If you want to try for superhuman patience, you might want to fish a jerkbait like Cody Murray. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-05-hallman-s-5-go-to-baits-for-new-lakes

Hallman’s 5 Go-To Baits for New Lakes

Deciding how best to figure things out on a new lake is one of the toughest challenges Tour pros and regular anglers alike encounter. Sometimes familiarity with the style of lake makes it easy, but other times you eventually need to stretch well outside of your comfort zone. Bradley Hallman has had success all over the country, and he’s got a stable of baits that he likes to rely on early in the process of breaking down a new lake. Your starting baits might be a little different, but Hallman’s approach to new water is worth considering. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-04-review-graph-glass

Review: Graph Glass

Graph Glass is a tempered screen protector that you can self-install on the most popular models of fishing electronics. For about $45 to $60 per unit, it protects the screen from flying tungsten or other projectiles, and there are other benefits as well. As far as I can tell, it’s a real winner of a product. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-30-cecil-s-shallow-cranking-menu

Cecil’s Shallow Cranking Menu

You can get by with a favorite crankbait or two for a lot of situations, but expanding your arsenal might not be a bad thing either. For cranking less than 6 feet deep, Cecil has six main baits he relies on, with a slightly different application for each. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-27-review-berkley-maxscent-creature-hawg

Review: Berkley MaxScent Creature Hawg

Back in 2017 at ICAST I opined that the new Berkley PowerBait MaxScent lineup would be good for smallmouths and more convenient than Gulp!, but wouldn’t make much of a dent in the flipping game. Then a couple weeks ago I burned through four Berkley PowerBait MaxScent Creature Hawg packs in two days and ordered a pile more. I don’t know if the rest of the world is doing it, but I’m certainly on the way toward proving myself wrong. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-26-carolina-rigging-with-castledine

Carolina Rigging with Castledine

Todd Castledine has long been one of the most fearsome anglers to fish against in Texas. The Nacogdoches pro is good at nearly everything, particularly sight-fishing, but one of his secret weapons is undoubtedly a Carolina rig. From using it for finding offshore structure to catching finicky bass, he’s almost always got one or two tied up on the deck of his Ranger – and you should too. READ MORE »

/news/2018-11-12-corn-wins-wild-card

Corn Wins Wild Card

Faced with brutal conditions for the final event of the 2018 T-H Marine Bass Fishing League season, everyone who managed to catch anything in the Wild Card on Old Hickory Lake in central Tennessee accomplished something. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-07-hallman-s-favorite-bait

Hallman’s Favorite Bait

We all have favorite baits. Usually, they develop over time due to a level of comfort with the technique, some signature successes and that extra feel of confidence when you can lock it in your hand. For some, it’s a topwater. If you’re from Florida, it might be a big jig or a punching rig. If you grew up on the Tennessee River, you might cherish a deep-diving crankbait or a swimbait. READ MORE »

/news/2018-11-05-top-10-baits-from-lake-guntersville

Top 10 Baits from Lake Guntersville

You can flip it, frog it, punch it and fish any number of moving baits through it. It’s grass, of course, and Lake Guntersville is full of it. That’s why so many grass-fishing baits were in the mix among the top 10 finishers at the 2018 Costa FLW Series Championship on Guntersville. READ MORE »

/news/2018-10-31-guntersville-lake-tour

Guntersville Lake Tour

Winding through Tennessee, north Alabama and Kentucky, the Tennessee River is studded with some of the most legendary reservoirs in bass-fishing history. Many would argue that Lake Guntersville is the best of the bunch, and though that is up for debate on any given year, Guntersville’s place in fishing history is undeniable. This week, the lake is under heavy pressure from a local championship event, anglers out to have fun and the 198 pros and co-anglers in the Costa FLW Series Championship. Here’s a look at what they’ll encounter on the water. READ MORE »