UPCOMING EVENT: T-H Marine BFL - 2019 - Lake Okeechobee

FISHING LEAGUE WORLDWIDE

Review: Lew’s Mark Rose Small Crankbait Rod

Team Lew's Custom Pro Speed Stick - Mark Rose Ledge Series

Great relationships are mutually beneficial. Case in point: Since beginning to design rods for Lew’s in late 2016, Mark Rose has used the company’s rods to win back-to-back FLW Tour events, and Lew’s has benefitted from his expertise in the design of a successful series of ledge-fishing-specific rods. Among the rods, which are part of the Team Lew’s Custom Pro Speed Stick Series, is the Mark Rose Ledge Series Small Crankbait Rod, which I recently reviewed. It’s a premier offering that is wicked sweet and a real joy to fish.

 

First impressions   

Measuring up at 7 feet, 6 inches long, the Small Crankbait Rod isn’t that small on the spec sheet, but it doesn’t feel really big in hand. Due to a little bit longer handle than normal, the rod is far from unwieldy, and it’s so light and balanced that you’d be hard-pressed to think of it as a truly “big” rod.

The butt is an odd-looking combo of foam and cork. I’m not a huge fan of the look, but it is very comfy to hold and fish, which is far more important. The reel seat is a pretty standard feel-through model that is comfortable and very solid. The rest of the rod is sleek and dark with gold accents. Everything on it has held up admirably well through a couple months of moderate fishing.

 

What you can fish

When I think of a ledge rod, I don’t really think small crankbaits. Mark Rose probably doesn’t live and die offshore with small crankbaits that much either, but they’re excellent tools closer to the bank, and this rod is great for them. It flat launches a Rapala DT 6, and you can fish a pretty wide variety of square-bills and medium-running crankbaits with ease. I’ve experimented with casting a 1/8-ounce crankbait like the rod is rated for, but I’m just not that good. That said, the rod truly has a lot of range, from the small end of a ¼-ounce Luhr-Jensen Speed Trap up to the Strike King 5XD or a Rapala DT 10.

Though the rod casts extremely well, it probably isn’t going to be a close-quarters go-to for most people due to its length. That said, I used to do most of my square-bill fishing with an 8-foot rod, so I’m kind of digging slinging a 7-6 around for closer stuff. I just think most people will probably prefer a shorter rod for picking apart laydowns with square-bills. Yet it can definitely be pressed into service on that side of things if need be.

In addition to being a capable square-bill stick, it’s also quite nice for jerkbaits. Again, some folks will prefer a shorter rod for less bait movement, but it casts a Megabass Vision 110 very well and really feels good. The handle is just a touch thicker than average, which I never noticed when casting and winding, but once I started jerking more I picked up on it. I think I could get used to it, but my usual jerkbait stick has a slimmer butt, and I think that’s just more comfortable for my hands.

I’ve also fiddled with the rod for topwaters, and I think it has a place there too. Because of the parabolic action, it soaks up the lack of stretch from braid really well. With braid, it will cast a walking bait a country mile, and the rod is light enough that it’s comfortable to walk the dog with despite the length. I’ve even chunked around a medium-sized wake bait with it, and that was fun too.

 

It keeps fish pegged

To me, the ideal crankbait rod lets you feel the bait pretty well and doesn’t lose fish. The Mark Rose Ledge Series Small Crankbait Rod has a nice combination of crispness at the tip for feel and softness throughout to keep fish buttoned up, and I can’t say that I’ve lost one on it yet.

Because it’s lighter than what I’d consider to be a 6XD rod, it’s not much for swinging fish, but you probably shouldn’t be swinging that many on a crankbait anyhow.

 

The verdict

Checking in at $240, the Mark Rose Ledge Series Small Crankbait Rod is a premium offering that does what it should perfectly and several other things very well. If you’re balking at the price, note that it does come with a limited lifetime warranty, which should make the purchase a little easier. If you do decide to pull the trigger you’re getting a heck of a stick. I really love it, and I can say for sure that it’s going to be a part of my arsenal for as long as I have it.

 

Details

Company: Lew’s

Series: Team Lew’s Custom Pro Speed Stick

Model: Mark Rose Ledge Series Small Crankbait Rod

Power: Medium

Action: Fast

Length: 7-6

Price: $239.99

Warranty: Limited lifetime warranty

 

Tags: jody-white  tech-tackle-reviews 

/news/2019-01-15-top-10-baits-from-sam-rayburn

Top 10 Baits from Sam Rayburn

Fishing deep-diving crankbait, dragging Carolina rigs and working finesse baits such as drop-shots were the keys to success at the FLW Tour opener at Sam Rayburn. Here are the bass-fishing baits that the top pros used. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-09-cecil-s-final-morning-of-practice

Cecil’s Final Morning of Practice

Russell Cecil is one of a number of standout Texas anglers fishing the FLW Tour opener this week on Sam Rayburn. After a lackluster rookie campaign in 2018, fishing near home is a great opportunity for the Willis, Texas, pro to get the year started off strong. Though the conditions are far from normal, a few hours on the final day of practice reveal that Cecil certainly has a read on the bass. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-figuring-out-rayburn-with-powell

Figuring Out Rayburn with Powell

Hensley Powell has quickly and quietly amassed quite a record with FLW. In just three years fishing the Costa FLW Series, he’s earned over $90,000, and he got a win at Table Rock in the Central Division in 2018. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-sam-rayburn-lake-tour

Sam Rayburn Lake Tour

This year, the FLW Tour kicks off in Texas with a showdown presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn. Big Sam hasn’t hosted too many FLW Tour events in the past, but it’s loaded with bass and bass fishing history. The lake is much higher than normal right now, which will no doubt produce different fishing than is typical for winter on Rayburn. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-06-practice-starts-at-rayburn

Practice Starts at Rayburn

Day one of practice for the FLW Tour presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn started this morning. We hung around takeoff to see friends we haven't seen in months and to get the season underway.  READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-04-high-water-will-factor-at-rayburn

High Water will Factor at Rayburn

Typical winter fishing on Sam Rayburn would call for a lot of lipless crankbaits, Carolina rigs and a focus on offshore structure and submerged grass. However, for the FLW Tour opener January 10-13 a lot of that may be out the window – or at least a lot different than many of the Rayburn sticks in the field are used to. Sam Rayburn has risen steadily since December 10th, and as of January 3, the lake is at 171.43 feet, which is 7 feet over full pool of 164.4 feet. READ MORE »

/tips/2019-01-02-2019-rookie-rundown

2019 Rookie Rundown

No matter how you get to the FLW Tour, you’re only a rookie once. This year, 34 pros are taking their talents on Tour for the first time. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-how-to-catch-winter-spotted-bass

How to Catch Winter Spotted Bass

Some of the best fishing of the year in the South occurs on the reservoirs with spotted bass in Georgia and the Carolinas. As a guide on Lake Lanier, FLW Tour pro Rob Jordan is adept at staying on the spots all winter. He knows when to fish deep or go shallow, and how to apply a jigging spoon, jig, underspin and crankbait to take full advantage of the opportunities. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-rookie-profile-ron-nelson

Rookie Profile: Ron Nelson  

While plenty of the Tour’s new pros have impressive resumes, few boast records as well-rounded and superlative as Ron Nelson’s. After years of success at the Costa FLW Series level, it’s finally time to see what the Michigan angler can do against the best in the nation.   READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-14-how-to-fish-umbrella-rigs-for-bass

How to Fish Umbrella Rigs for Bass

Castable umbrella rigs, also called Alabama rigs or A-rigs, were first deployed in tournament bass fishing by Paul Elias in the 2011 FLW Tour Open on Lake Guntersville. Since then, they’ve garnered a lot of controversy and caught a lot of bass. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-10-sinking-a-staysee-for-winter-bass

Sinking a Staysee for Winter Bass

Fishing late and early in the season is often challenging. Because the water is cold, it can take a lot more patience to find fish or to coax them into biting. If you truly want to put your patience to the test, you might consider fishing a jerkbait ultra-slow. If you want to try for superhuman patience, you might want to fish a jerkbait like Cody Murray. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-05-hallman-s-5-go-to-baits-for-new-lakes

Hallman’s 5 Go-To Baits for New Lakes

Deciding how best to figure things out on a new lake is one of the toughest challenges Tour pros and regular anglers alike encounter. Sometimes familiarity with the style of lake makes it easy, but other times you eventually need to stretch well outside of your comfort zone. Bradley Hallman has had success all over the country, and he’s got a stable of baits that he likes to rely on early in the process of breaking down a new lake. Your starting baits might be a little different, but Hallman’s approach to new water is worth considering. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-04-review-graph-glass

Review: Graph Glass

Graph Glass is a tempered screen protector that you can self-install on the most popular models of fishing electronics. For about $45 to $60 per unit, it protects the screen from flying tungsten or other projectiles, and there are other benefits as well. As far as I can tell, it’s a real winner of a product. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-30-cecil-s-shallow-cranking-menu

Cecil’s Shallow Cranking Menu

You can get by with a favorite crankbait or two for a lot of situations, but expanding your arsenal might not be a bad thing either. For cranking less than 6 feet deep, Cecil has six main baits he relies on, with a slightly different application for each. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-27-review-berkley-maxscent-creature-hawg

Review: Berkley MaxScent Creature Hawg

Back in 2017 at ICAST I opined that the new Berkley PowerBait MaxScent lineup would be good for smallmouths and more convenient than Gulp!, but wouldn’t make much of a dent in the flipping game. Then a couple weeks ago I burned through four Berkley PowerBait MaxScent Creature Hawg packs in two days and ordered a pile more. I don’t know if the rest of the world is doing it, but I’m certainly on the way toward proving myself wrong. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-26-carolina-rigging-with-castledine

Carolina Rigging with Castledine

Todd Castledine has long been one of the most fearsome anglers to fish against in Texas. The Nacogdoches pro is good at nearly everything, particularly sight-fishing, but one of his secret weapons is undoubtedly a Carolina rig. From using it for finding offshore structure to catching finicky bass, he’s almost always got one or two tied up on the deck of his Ranger – and you should too. READ MORE »

/news/2018-11-12-corn-wins-wild-card

Corn Wins Wild Card

Faced with brutal conditions for the final event of the 2018 T-H Marine Bass Fishing League season, everyone who managed to catch anything in the Wild Card on Old Hickory Lake in central Tennessee accomplished something. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-07-hallman-s-favorite-bait

Hallman’s Favorite Bait

We all have favorite baits. Usually, they develop over time due to a level of comfort with the technique, some signature successes and that extra feel of confidence when you can lock it in your hand. For some, it’s a topwater. If you’re from Florida, it might be a big jig or a punching rig. If you grew up on the Tennessee River, you might cherish a deep-diving crankbait or a swimbait. READ MORE »

/news/2018-11-05-top-10-baits-from-lake-guntersville

Top 10 Baits from Lake Guntersville

You can flip it, frog it, punch it and fish any number of moving baits through it. It’s grass, of course, and Lake Guntersville is full of it. That’s why so many grass-fishing baits were in the mix among the top 10 finishers at the 2018 Costa FLW Series Championship on Guntersville. READ MORE »

/news/2018-10-31-guntersville-lake-tour

Guntersville Lake Tour

Winding through Tennessee, north Alabama and Kentucky, the Tennessee River is studded with some of the most legendary reservoirs in bass-fishing history. Many would argue that Lake Guntersville is the best of the bunch, and though that is up for debate on any given year, Guntersville’s place in fishing history is undeniable. This week, the lake is under heavy pressure from a local championship event, anglers out to have fun and the 198 pros and co-anglers in the Costa FLW Series Championship. Here’s a look at what they’ll encounter on the water. READ MORE »