UPCOMING EVENT: T-H Marine BFL - 2019 - Lake Okeechobee

FISHING LEAGUE WORLDWIDE

Review: Berkley Snap Jig

Berkley Snap Jig

The Berkley Snap Jig is an odd-looking piece of terminal tackle, but based on a few days of fishing with it, I think it’s going to earn a place in a lot of tackle boxes.

A fin under the jighead causes the Snap Jig to glide on the fall, and it seems like a good addition to the ice-jig genre, which is gaining ground as an open-water lure category for bass fishing.

 

Rapala Jigging Rap

Good genes

The Snap Jig appears to be a spinoff of the popular Rapala Jigging Rap and Snap Rap, which I mention not to knock Berkley for going the copycat route, but for background on why folks would get excited about a bait that looks more like ice fishing fodder than bass food. Jigging Raps have been producing consistently for bass anglers for years now, mostly for deeper winter smallmouths up north, but out West and in other parts of the country as well. The Jigging Rap is a phenomenal little bait for fishing vertically anywhere in the water column, but some have applied it in more horizontal situations as well.

If it even comes close to the success of Rapala’s offerings, the Snap Jig will be a winner, and I think that because it’s a little more approachable it probably can.

 

Nicely built

Running you $5.99 for a pack of two, the Snap Jig seems like it’s priced about right for what it is. The Snap Jig comes in three sizes: 3/16, 1/4 and 3/8 ounce.

It’s made with a 1/0 Berkley Fusion19 hook, which seems high quality, but I wouldn’t mind having a smaller option for using even smaller soft plastics, though that’s probably not totally necessary for most bass applications. There’s a hook hanger incorporated underneath the wing, and it’d be a good place to attach a small blade or a stinger hook. I think a little blade on the 3/8-ounce model might make for a really interesting presentation, and I can see scenarios where a stinger would be clutch, though every bass I had bite it pretty much choked it.

Tackle Warehouse only sells three shad-looking colors, but Berkley makes quite a few others, so if black or green pumpkin is your pleasure you can get it.

 

Berkley Snap Jig

The action

I rigged a Gambler Shakey Shad on it for testing, and I think that a Fluke- or minnow-style bait is going to be the way to go with the Snap Jig. The idea of a swimbait sashaying through the water is tempting, but I suspect that all but the tiniest tail would really deaden the action the jig provides.

A big part of the success of snap-style baits when fishing vertically and ice fishing is the way they fall. After you pop the bait up, it spirals down in a wider glide than any darter head could ever produce. Especially with the wide-gliding Snap Rap, you can sometimes jerk the bait up and feel it hit bottom again feet away from where it lifted off. The Snap Jig produces that action, but I think its strength is going to be fishing along the bottom or up in the water column with casting techniques, where it might be a little more suited to the task than a modified Jigging Rap.

When folks fish a Jigging Rap horizontally they typically cut off the nose hook and often remove the bottom hook as well so it doesn’t hang up as much. You don’t need to do that with the Snap Jig. You can stick a little Fluke on it and pop it along right out of the package without a second thought. Coming through the water, it has a pretty cool snapping/gliding action, and though you might be able to replicate it to an extent with a weightless or lightly weighted Fluke, it’s not a typical action for a small, weighted plastic.

 

Berkley Snap Jig

Catching fish

The first time I fished the Snap Jig I broke off a bite on literally the first cast and then didn’t get another the rest of the afternoon (they really wanted a swimbait that day). I saw better success with the Snap Jig on subsequent trips, but I never really fished it fast or horizontally for more than experimental purposes.

My best success with it was fishing it basically vertically on some underwater pilings in 12 to 20 feet of water for winter smallmouths. When they bit it they choked it, and they usually grabbed it pretty hard, which is nice in 39-degree water.

I’m curious to apply it in east Tennessee or on Dale Hollow as a Damiki rig alternative, and I’ll definitely have one tied on for some more experimenting this Christmas at Candlewood Lake in Connecticut.

 

The verdict

I haven’t spent months on the water with the Snap Jig, and I haven’t had any sort of technique epiphany with it, but if you’re interested after reading this I think you should get a few to try. You won’t be disappointed with the construction, and I think there’s a pretty good chance you’ll find a way to catch some bass with it. Overall, I would say it is perfectly satisfying and something I’m going to continue to experiment with.

 

Details

Company: Berkley

Product: Berkley Snap Jig

Colors: 8

Weights: 3/16, 1/4 and 3/8 ounce

Price: $5.99 for a two-pack

Tags: jody-white  tech-tackle-reviews 

/news/2019-01-15-top-10-baits-from-sam-rayburn

Top 10 Baits from Sam Rayburn

Fishing deep-diving crankbait, dragging Carolina rigs and working finesse baits such as drop-shots were the keys to success at the FLW Tour opener at Sam Rayburn. Here are the bass-fishing baits that the top pros used. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-09-cecil-s-final-morning-of-practice

Cecil’s Final Morning of Practice

Russell Cecil is one of a number of standout Texas anglers fishing the FLW Tour opener this week on Sam Rayburn. After a lackluster rookie campaign in 2018, fishing near home is a great opportunity for the Willis, Texas, pro to get the year started off strong. Though the conditions are far from normal, a few hours on the final day of practice reveal that Cecil certainly has a read on the bass. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-figuring-out-rayburn-with-powell

Figuring Out Rayburn with Powell

Hensley Powell has quickly and quietly amassed quite a record with FLW. In just three years fishing the Costa FLW Series, he’s earned over $90,000, and he got a win at Table Rock in the Central Division in 2018. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-sam-rayburn-lake-tour

Sam Rayburn Lake Tour

This year, the FLW Tour kicks off in Texas with a showdown presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn. Big Sam hasn’t hosted too many FLW Tour events in the past, but it’s loaded with bass and bass fishing history. The lake is much higher than normal right now, which will no doubt produce different fishing than is typical for winter on Rayburn. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-06-practice-starts-at-rayburn

Practice Starts at Rayburn

Day one of practice for the FLW Tour presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn started this morning. We hung around takeoff to see friends we haven't seen in months and to get the season underway.  READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-04-high-water-will-factor-at-rayburn

High Water will Factor at Rayburn

Typical winter fishing on Sam Rayburn would call for a lot of lipless crankbaits, Carolina rigs and a focus on offshore structure and submerged grass. However, for the FLW Tour opener January 10-13 a lot of that may be out the window – or at least a lot different than many of the Rayburn sticks in the field are used to. Sam Rayburn has risen steadily since December 10th, and as of January 3, the lake is at 171.43 feet, which is 7 feet over full pool of 164.4 feet. READ MORE »

/tips/2019-01-02-2019-rookie-rundown

2019 Rookie Rundown

No matter how you get to the FLW Tour, you’re only a rookie once. This year, 34 pros are taking their talents on Tour for the first time. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-how-to-catch-winter-spotted-bass

How to Catch Winter Spotted Bass

Some of the best fishing of the year in the South occurs on the reservoirs with spotted bass in Georgia and the Carolinas. As a guide on Lake Lanier, FLW Tour pro Rob Jordan is adept at staying on the spots all winter. He knows when to fish deep or go shallow, and how to apply a jigging spoon, jig, underspin and crankbait to take full advantage of the opportunities. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-rookie-profile-ron-nelson

Rookie Profile: Ron Nelson  

While plenty of the Tour’s new pros have impressive resumes, few boast records as well-rounded and superlative as Ron Nelson’s. After years of success at the Costa FLW Series level, it’s finally time to see what the Michigan angler can do against the best in the nation.   READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-14-how-to-fish-umbrella-rigs-for-bass

How to Fish Umbrella Rigs for Bass

Castable umbrella rigs, also called Alabama rigs or A-rigs, were first deployed in tournament bass fishing by Paul Elias in the 2011 FLW Tour Open on Lake Guntersville. Since then, they’ve garnered a lot of controversy and caught a lot of bass. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-10-sinking-a-staysee-for-winter-bass

Sinking a Staysee for Winter Bass

Fishing late and early in the season is often challenging. Because the water is cold, it can take a lot more patience to find fish or to coax them into biting. If you truly want to put your patience to the test, you might consider fishing a jerkbait ultra-slow. If you want to try for superhuman patience, you might want to fish a jerkbait like Cody Murray. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-05-hallman-s-5-go-to-baits-for-new-lakes

Hallman’s 5 Go-To Baits for New Lakes

Deciding how best to figure things out on a new lake is one of the toughest challenges Tour pros and regular anglers alike encounter. Sometimes familiarity with the style of lake makes it easy, but other times you eventually need to stretch well outside of your comfort zone. Bradley Hallman has had success all over the country, and he’s got a stable of baits that he likes to rely on early in the process of breaking down a new lake. Your starting baits might be a little different, but Hallman’s approach to new water is worth considering. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-04-review-graph-glass

Review: Graph Glass

Graph Glass is a tempered screen protector that you can self-install on the most popular models of fishing electronics. For about $45 to $60 per unit, it protects the screen from flying tungsten or other projectiles, and there are other benefits as well. As far as I can tell, it’s a real winner of a product. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-30-cecil-s-shallow-cranking-menu

Cecil’s Shallow Cranking Menu

You can get by with a favorite crankbait or two for a lot of situations, but expanding your arsenal might not be a bad thing either. For cranking less than 6 feet deep, Cecil has six main baits he relies on, with a slightly different application for each. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-27-review-berkley-maxscent-creature-hawg

Review: Berkley MaxScent Creature Hawg

Back in 2017 at ICAST I opined that the new Berkley PowerBait MaxScent lineup would be good for smallmouths and more convenient than Gulp!, but wouldn’t make much of a dent in the flipping game. Then a couple weeks ago I burned through four Berkley PowerBait MaxScent Creature Hawg packs in two days and ordered a pile more. I don’t know if the rest of the world is doing it, but I’m certainly on the way toward proving myself wrong. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-26-carolina-rigging-with-castledine

Carolina Rigging with Castledine

Todd Castledine has long been one of the most fearsome anglers to fish against in Texas. The Nacogdoches pro is good at nearly everything, particularly sight-fishing, but one of his secret weapons is undoubtedly a Carolina rig. From using it for finding offshore structure to catching finicky bass, he’s almost always got one or two tied up on the deck of his Ranger – and you should too. READ MORE »

/news/2018-11-12-corn-wins-wild-card

Corn Wins Wild Card

Faced with brutal conditions for the final event of the 2018 T-H Marine Bass Fishing League season, everyone who managed to catch anything in the Wild Card on Old Hickory Lake in central Tennessee accomplished something. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-07-hallman-s-favorite-bait

Hallman’s Favorite Bait

We all have favorite baits. Usually, they develop over time due to a level of comfort with the technique, some signature successes and that extra feel of confidence when you can lock it in your hand. For some, it’s a topwater. If you’re from Florida, it might be a big jig or a punching rig. If you grew up on the Tennessee River, you might cherish a deep-diving crankbait or a swimbait. READ MORE »

/news/2018-11-05-top-10-baits-from-lake-guntersville

Top 10 Baits from Lake Guntersville

You can flip it, frog it, punch it and fish any number of moving baits through it. It’s grass, of course, and Lake Guntersville is full of it. That’s why so many grass-fishing baits were in the mix among the top 10 finishers at the 2018 Costa FLW Series Championship on Guntersville. READ MORE »

/news/2018-10-31-guntersville-lake-tour

Guntersville Lake Tour

Winding through Tennessee, north Alabama and Kentucky, the Tennessee River is studded with some of the most legendary reservoirs in bass-fishing history. Many would argue that Lake Guntersville is the best of the bunch, and though that is up for debate on any given year, Guntersville’s place in fishing history is undeniable. This week, the lake is under heavy pressure from a local championship event, anglers out to have fun and the 198 pros and co-anglers in the Costa FLW Series Championship. Here’s a look at what they’ll encounter on the water. READ MORE »