UPCOMING EVENT: T-H Marine BFL - 2019 - Lake Okeechobee

FISHING LEAGUE WORLDWIDE

Costa Sunrise Silver Mirror Lens Review

Costa Sunglasses

Costa Sunglasses makes a wide range of glasses and lenses targeted at about everyone – from folks who want to look cool at the beach to anglers looking for tarpon on the flats. The Sunrise Silver Mirror lens is probably the most bass-angler targeted lens yet, and I think it’s a real success.

 

Costa Sunglasses

The reason for the yellow

Sunrise Silver Mirror lenses are meant to be worn in low-light conditions – they’re essentially a yellow lens with a light mirroring on them. Costa says they allow for 30% light transmission, which is about three times as much light transmission as you’ll get with a more standard copper lens. They’re polarized to reduce glare, but because they let so much light through you can see in much darker conditions than usual – Costa says these lenses are ideal for cloudy or rainy days as well as the morning or evening, before the sun has really gotten up. Costa also says that because more light gets through, these are particularly good for spotting bedding bass.

Costa Sunglasses

I’ve worn them almost exclusively for about half a year now in bright Florida sun at high noon, cloudy April days on Kentucky Lake, chilly winter days on Candlewood Lake and many other conditions. Through it all, I believe the claim that they excel for sight-fishing is nearly 100 percent true. For one, plenty of the best sight-fishermen in the country have adopted them, from Todd Castledine to Scott Canterbury. Personally, I definitely think I’ve seen more bass with them, and I believe I’ve noticed a positive difference between my ability to spot bass and others not wearing the Sunrise Silver Mirrors in the same boat as me.

I’ve long been a believer in using more than one color lens, so the idea that a yellow lens would be good for sight-fishing and morning light isn’t surprising to me. What is surprising is just how versatile I’ve found them to be. I routinely wear the Sunrise Silver Mirrors all day long and that seems to be common practice for folks who own them. Because more light gets in, it’s just easier to see fish, which is the name of the game.

One worry I recently put to bed was how they would do for smallmouths. I figured that because smallmouths are brown and their beds don’t really look like a largemouth bed the glasses might not perform as well. Shayne McFarlin put that to bed in the Costa FLW Series on Champlain, and I got out afterwards and put my mind at ease as well. I think you can pretty safely say these lenses will be excellent on iffy days for smallmouth sight-fishing.

 

Costa Sunglasses

A few drawbacks

I’ve worn the Sunrise Silver Mirror lenses a ton lately, and though they are good in nearly all conditions I do think you should probably have a second pair of glasses with a darker lens. I’m sure it depends on your eyes, but there have been a few days when I’ve gotten off the water with a headache that I think might have at least a little something to do with wearing yellow lenses in a ton of sun. On that note, my eyes got pretty tired after a long day of idling in the strong summer sun on Kentucky Lake with these lenses – they’re versatile lenses no doubt, but I wouldn’t want them to be my only pair.

Currently, the Sunrise Silver Mirror lenses only come in polycarbonate, not glass. It’s a little less scratch-proof than glass and not quite as clear, but they’re still very good. I’d worn glass Costas a bunch before, and I honestly didn’t realize these weren’t until I looked it up after someone mentioned it to me. If glass is your jam, you may be out of luck. That said, if the Sunrise Silver Mirror continues to be as popular as they have been, Costa will probably try to fill that gap in the lineup.

Finally, they’re expensive. Obviously, you don’t expect Costa glasses to be cheap, but spending nearly $200 on a pair of glasses you may not want to wear all the time is quite a commitment. I think they’ll catch you more bass and make you a better sight-fisherman, but making the call on something that pricey is a personal decision, no matter how much value they’ll provide.

 

Costa Sunglasses

The verdict

I think if you get a pair of your favorite Costa frames with Sunrise Silver Mirror lenses you’ll be impressed. They’re great for sight-fishing, and also awesome for driving a boat in the rain, takeoff or at dusk.


Pros

  • Dynamite for sight-fishing
  • Good for nasty weather days
  • More versatile than you might think

Cons

  • You probably want some darker lenses to go with them
  • Not cheap
  • The yellow/silver is slightly goofy looking if fashion is a concern
  • Not available in some frame styles

Details

Company: Costa Del Mar

Lens: Sunrise Silver Mirror

Material: Polycarbonate

Price: $188 and up

Tags: costa  jody-white  tech-tackle-reviews 

/news/2019-01-15-top-10-baits-from-sam-rayburn

Top 10 Baits from Sam Rayburn

Fishing deep-diving crankbait, dragging Carolina rigs and working finesse baits such as drop-shots were the keys to success at the FLW Tour opener at Sam Rayburn. Here are the bass-fishing baits that the top pros used. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-09-cecil-s-final-morning-of-practice

Cecil’s Final Morning of Practice

Russell Cecil is one of a number of standout Texas anglers fishing the FLW Tour opener this week on Sam Rayburn. After a lackluster rookie campaign in 2018, fishing near home is a great opportunity for the Willis, Texas, pro to get the year started off strong. Though the conditions are far from normal, a few hours on the final day of practice reveal that Cecil certainly has a read on the bass. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-figuring-out-rayburn-with-powell

Figuring Out Rayburn with Powell

Hensley Powell has quickly and quietly amassed quite a record with FLW. In just three years fishing the Costa FLW Series, he’s earned over $90,000, and he got a win at Table Rock in the Central Division in 2018. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-07-sam-rayburn-lake-tour

Sam Rayburn Lake Tour

This year, the FLW Tour kicks off in Texas with a showdown presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn. Big Sam hasn’t hosted too many FLW Tour events in the past, but it’s loaded with bass and bass fishing history. The lake is much higher than normal right now, which will no doubt produce different fishing than is typical for winter on Rayburn. READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-06-practice-starts-at-rayburn

Practice Starts at Rayburn

Day one of practice for the FLW Tour presented by Polaris on Sam Rayburn started this morning. We hung around takeoff to see friends we haven't seen in months and to get the season underway.  READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-05-hanselman-wins-costa-flw-series-season-opener-on-lake-amistad-presented-by-ranger-boats

Hanselman Wins Costa FLW Series Season Opener on Lake Amistad Presented by Ranger Boats

DEL RIO, Texas – Local pro Ray Hanselman of Del Rio, brought five bass weighing 12 pounds, 1 ounce, to the scale Saturday to win the 2019 season-opening Costa FLW Series at Lake Amistad presented by Ranger Boats. The tournament was shortened from three days to two after... READ MORE »

/news/2019-01-04-high-water-will-factor-at-rayburn

High Water will Factor at Rayburn

Typical winter fishing on Sam Rayburn would call for a lot of lipless crankbaits, Carolina rigs and a focus on offshore structure and submerged grass. However, for the FLW Tour opener January 10-13 a lot of that may be out the window – or at least a lot different than many of the Rayburn sticks in the field are used to. Sam Rayburn has risen steadily since December 10th, and as of January 3, the lake is at 171.43 feet, which is 7 feet over full pool of 164.4 feet. READ MORE »

/tips/2019-01-02-2019-rookie-rundown

2019 Rookie Rundown

No matter how you get to the FLW Tour, you’re only a rookie once. This year, 34 pros are taking their talents on Tour for the first time. READ MORE »

/news/2018-12-20-lake-amistad-to-host-2019-costa-flw-series-season-opener-presented-by-ranger-boats

Lake Amistad to Host 2019 Costa FLW Series Season Opener Presented by Ranger Boats

DEL RIO, Texas – The 2019 Costa Fishing League Worldwide (FLW) Series tournament season is set to open at Lake Amistad, Jan. 3-5, with the Costa FLW Series at Lake Amistad presented by Ranger Boats. Hosted by the Del Rio... READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-how-to-catch-winter-spotted-bass

How to Catch Winter Spotted Bass

Some of the best fishing of the year in the South occurs on the reservoirs with spotted bass in Georgia and the Carolinas. As a guide on Lake Lanier, FLW Tour pro Rob Jordan is adept at staying on the spots all winter. He knows when to fish deep or go shallow, and how to apply a jigging spoon, jig, underspin and crankbait to take full advantage of the opportunities. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-19-rookie-profile-ron-nelson

Rookie Profile: Ron Nelson  

While plenty of the Tour’s new pros have impressive resumes, few boast records as well-rounded and superlative as Ron Nelson’s. After years of success at the Costa FLW Series level, it’s finally time to see what the Michigan angler can do against the best in the nation.   READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-14-how-to-fish-umbrella-rigs-for-bass

How to Fish Umbrella Rigs for Bass

Castable umbrella rigs, also called Alabama rigs or A-rigs, were first deployed in tournament bass fishing by Paul Elias in the 2011 FLW Tour Open on Lake Guntersville. Since then, they’ve garnered a lot of controversy and caught a lot of bass. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-10-sinking-a-staysee-for-winter-bass

Sinking a Staysee for Winter Bass

Fishing late and early in the season is often challenging. Because the water is cold, it can take a lot more patience to find fish or to coax them into biting. If you truly want to put your patience to the test, you might consider fishing a jerkbait ultra-slow. If you want to try for superhuman patience, you might want to fish a jerkbait like Cody Murray. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-05-hallman-s-5-go-to-baits-for-new-lakes

Hallman’s 5 Go-To Baits for New Lakes

Deciding how best to figure things out on a new lake is one of the toughest challenges Tour pros and regular anglers alike encounter. Sometimes familiarity with the style of lake makes it easy, but other times you eventually need to stretch well outside of your comfort zone. Bradley Hallman has had success all over the country, and he’s got a stable of baits that he likes to rely on early in the process of breaking down a new lake. Your starting baits might be a little different, but Hallman’s approach to new water is worth considering. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-12-04-review-graph-glass

Review: Graph Glass

Graph Glass is a tempered screen protector that you can self-install on the most popular models of fishing electronics. For about $45 to $60 per unit, it protects the screen from flying tungsten or other projectiles, and there are other benefits as well. As far as I can tell, it’s a real winner of a product. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-30-cecil-s-shallow-cranking-menu

Cecil’s Shallow Cranking Menu

You can get by with a favorite crankbait or two for a lot of situations, but expanding your arsenal might not be a bad thing either. For cranking less than 6 feet deep, Cecil has six main baits he relies on, with a slightly different application for each. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-27-review-berkley-maxscent-creature-hawg

Review: Berkley MaxScent Creature Hawg

Back in 2017 at ICAST I opined that the new Berkley PowerBait MaxScent lineup would be good for smallmouths and more convenient than Gulp!, but wouldn’t make much of a dent in the flipping game. Then a couple weeks ago I burned through four Berkley PowerBait MaxScent Creature Hawg packs in two days and ordered a pile more. I don’t know if the rest of the world is doing it, but I’m certainly on the way toward proving myself wrong. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-26-carolina-rigging-with-castledine

Carolina Rigging with Castledine

Todd Castledine has long been one of the most fearsome anglers to fish against in Texas. The Nacogdoches pro is good at nearly everything, particularly sight-fishing, but one of his secret weapons is undoubtedly a Carolina rig. From using it for finding offshore structure to catching finicky bass, he’s almost always got one or two tied up on the deck of his Ranger – and you should too. READ MORE »

/news/2018-11-12-corn-wins-wild-card

Corn Wins Wild Card

Faced with brutal conditions for the final event of the 2018 T-H Marine Bass Fishing League season, everyone who managed to catch anything in the Wild Card on Old Hickory Lake in central Tennessee accomplished something. READ MORE »

/tips/2018-11-07-hallman-s-favorite-bait

Hallman’s Favorite Bait

We all have favorite baits. Usually, they develop over time due to a level of comfort with the technique, some signature successes and that extra feel of confidence when you can lock it in your hand. For some, it’s a topwater. If you’re from Florida, it might be a big jig or a punching rig. If you grew up on the Tennessee River, you might cherish a deep-diving crankbait or a swimbait. READ MORE »