UPCOMING EVENT: Bass Fishing League - 2016 - Lake Okeechobee

Rayovac FLW Series Preview: Grand Lake

Blaukat holds a Megabass Vision 110 which could be a very familiar sight to anglers this week.

Editor's Note: The Central Division of the Rayovac FLW Series holds its season-opener on chilly Grand Lake O' the Cherokees April 3-5 out of Wolf Creek Park, and Bridgford Foods pro Randy Blaukat has a few insights on what the contestants are likely to find. The writer's opinions and observations expressed here are his own, and do not necessarily reflect or represent the views, policies or positions of FLW.

The winter of 2014 was extreme virtually everywhere, and Grand Lake and the tri-state area of Oklahoma, Missouri and Arkansas was not spared from the deep freeze. I live about 35 minutes from the lake, and during the 40-plus years I've been fishing Grand, only on two occasions have I seen the lake almost completely frozen over. One of those times was this winter.

Needless to say, when the Rayovac FLW Series Central Division anglers arrive there for the tournament, they're going to find water temperatures far below what is normal for this time of year. I've fished the lake quite a bit since last December, and rarely have I seen the fishing so tough.

Anglers who pay attention to such things might be aware of the fact that about three weeks ago, the Walmart FLW Bass Fishing League event on Grand was brutal. Only 33 pros weighed in a bass, and more than 100 blanked for the day. This week's event will certainly see much better results, as we are just now seeing water temperatures climb to around 50 degrees in the lake.

There are a couple of other factors that will have a big impact on the fishing during the Rayovac FLW Series event. First, the tri-state area has had very little rain since the first of the year, and consequently the lake is about as clear as it ever gets. This, combined with the cool water, will create a solid prespawn situation. And lastly, the lake has experienced two huge shad kills, and the bass have taken full advantage of this.

Unless we get some unexpected heavy rains that flood the Neosho and Spring rivers, the lake should be stable from one end to the other, and that'll open up a lot of water to the anglers. Technique wise, there will be a lot of things working during the tournament. All of the typical prespawn methods will come into play. Jigs, spinnerbaits, jerkbaits and crankbaits have the potential to be the key lures.

The big thing that should be on all of the anglers' minds is the infamous and unfortunately still legal umbrella rig [Editor's Note: the rule stipulates that an umbrella rig may have a maximum of five wires, five spinners and five lures, but only three single or treble hooks, unless state regulations require fewer]. The rig dominated tournaments on the lake last year, but has not been much of a factor in 2014. The main reason for this is probably the result of those massive shad kills and the easy pickings they offer bass.

Then again, nothing has produced very well since the water temperatures plummeted and stayed in the upper 30s and low 40s through most of January, February and March. Based on my experience and knowledge of the lake, I think some anglers will do all right on the umbrella rig, but the best catches will come on more traditional offerings.

The main problem that anglers face with the umbrella rig is figuring out the right rig and the right water. I'm confident that 90 percent of the field will throw one in practice, but maybe only 10 percent will depend on it during the main event. So much has to do with getting the right lure color/size setup, the right weights, the correct wire profiles, etc. Add to those variables the job of finding the right water. The fish might be on points, banks, guts, ditches, docks, suspended over shad - or somewhere in between.

The umbrella rig anglers who figure out the right setup and right water could do well and possibly win. There again, though, my prediction is that most of those guys chunking umbrella rigs will be wasting serious practice time with nothing to show for it except a good arm workout.

What will make this event really interesting is how the anglers deal with the lake being behind schedule as far as the spring warm-up. The more traditional late-March patterns and techniques might give way to some new creative approaches. That is the great thing about tournament fishing, however. It's a mental game where creativity, intuition and creative visualization pay off. And I see the Rayovac FLW Series test on Grand Lake being no different.

Best of luck to all the anglers!

To follow Randy Blaukat's exploits throughout the season, fans can visit any one of his (or his sponsor's) social media platforms below:

www.facebook.com/randy.blaukat

twitter.com/randyblaukat1

www.facebook.com/BridgfordFoods

www.facebook.com/SweetBabyRaysBeefJerky

twitter.com/BridgfordFoods

Tags: randy-blaukat  blog  2014-04-03-grand-lake 

/tips/2016-07-28-flw-podcast-128-mark-rose

FLW Podcast 128 - Mark Rose

READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-23-1000-islands-day-3-midday-update

1000 Islands Day 3 Midday Update

READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-22-1000-islands-midday-update-day-2

1000 Islands Midday Update Day 2

Day two of the Costa FLW Series Northern Division event presented by Mercury at 1000 Islands got started on a slightly different note this morning when FLW’s tournament directors declared Lake Ontario off limits due to hazardous conditions. The change threw a few of the top pros off their primary plans, but regardless the 137-boat field will be cut down to the top 10 after today, so adjustments need to be made in order to qualify to fish the weekend. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-19-flw-podcast-126-icast

FLW Podcast 126 - ICAST

READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-14-2017-walmart-flw-tour-schedule

2017 Walmart FLW Tour Schedule

In what has become an annual tradition at FLW, the 2017 Walmart FLW Tour schedule was announced at a press conference and industry gathering held Thursday on the show floor at ICAST in Orlando, Fla. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-12-si-se-puede-yes-we-can

Si Se Puede ... Yes We Can

Mexico’s Lake Zimapan is different in many ways from the lakes to the north such as Florida’s Lake Okeechobee and California’s Clear Lake, but one element it has in common with those famous fisheries is big bass. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-11-5-rookie-lessons-learned

5 Rookie Lessons Learned

People have asked me what my first year on the Walmart FLW Tour was like. Well, it was like running headfirst into a hurricane for a few months. I came out the other side a little battered, bruised and smelling like fish. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-11-flw-podcast-125-scott-martin

FLW Podcast 125 - Scott Martin

READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-08-review-lew-s-custom-speed-stick-lite

Review: Lew’s Custom Speed Stick Lite

Recently I had the opportunity to try one model in particular – the 7-foot, 4-inch Magnum Pitchin’ rod. After fishing with it several times, I’ve concluded that it performs as advertised, is sensitive and lightweight, and is well worth the money. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-08-reunited-and-it-feels-so-good

Reunited, and it Feels so Good

This year I really had a reunion with finesse fishing. Most of my better tournaments came from fishing some type of finesse presentation. Finesse tactics seemed to always give me a certain confidence about the day. While finesse tactics are nothing new to the game of bass fishing, this year I regained the confidence and joy of catching bass on smaller offerings. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-08-2016-icast-preview

2016 ICAST Preview

The doors to ICAST don’t open until next week, when everyone gets out on the showroom floor in Orlando, Fla., but there are already plenty of snippets of information available. FLW’s media crew will be there in full force to bring you coverage of the hottest new products, as well as the annual New Product Showcase awards. For now, take a gander at some of the early birds. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-07-07-flw-canada-kicks-off-at-tri-lakes

FLW Canada Kicks Off at Tri-Lakes

Among these Canadian all-stars was the eventual winning team of Chris Vandermeer of Peterborough and Jeff Slute of Millbrook. Capitalizing on a strong day one shallow-water smallmouth pattern, the duo took advantage of the slick-calm conditions using a silver-hued topwater popping plug to agitate the lake’s bronzebacks into attack. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-30-flw-tour-pro-cooksey-recovering-after-accident

FLW Tour Pro Cooksey Recovering After Accident

Walmart FLW Tour sophomore Dalton Cooksey of New Concord, Ky., is recovering at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Tennessee following a single-car accident that took place Wednesday afternoon. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-30-flw-podcast-124-jeremy-lawyer

FLW Podcast 124 - Jeremy Lawyer

READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-29-stetson-blaylock-s-recipe-for-a-wacky-rig

Stetson Blaylock’s Recipe for a Wacky Rig

From March until the end of the fishing season I’m going to have a wacky rig on deck. It’s a really effective way to fish anytime the fishing is tough, or if the fish are up cruising banks. Anytime fish are about 5 feet deep or less, I can catch them on the wacky rig. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-28-morgan-claims-third-flw-tour-angler-of-the-year-title

Morgan Claims third FLW Tour Angler of the Year Title

MINNEAPOLIS – Livingston Lures pro Andy Morgan of Dayton, Tennessee, added to his incredible fishing resume by winning his third Walmart FLW Tour Angler of the Year title Saturday at the FLW Tour's final 2016 regular-season event on Lake Champlain.... READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-24-three-things-by-dd-kentucky-lake

Three Things by DD: Kentucky Lake

Kentucky Lake did not go the way I intended. I was pumped and ready to rock out a top-20 finish. I had great expectations of myself, but nothing seemed to come together. Practice was dicey, but I thought for sure I could put something together to make the cut. That was until day one came, and the whole vibe of my day instantly went from eager to agitated. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-23-how-to-catch-smallmouths-with-hair-jigs

How to Catch Smallmouths with Hair Jigs

The “right” hair jig for smallmouths is a small 1/16- to 1/8-ounce marabou jig with a round or mushroom-shaped head. The jig is similar to marabou jigs used by crappie fishermen, but bass models will often have a larger, stronger hook and possibly a longer or thicker skirt. Naturally, anglers have their favorites, and there are subtle differences in jigs that make some better than others. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-22-two-exciting-events-to-look-forward-to

Two Exciting Events to Look Forward To

We are in the last stretch of the 2016 Walmart FLW Tour. Awaiting us is the Lake Champlain tournament in just a few days. A couple of things will be settled there: the pro field for the Forrest Wood Cup and the Angler of the Year. READ MORE »

/tips/2016-06-21-tagging-along-with-sprague-in-kentucky

Tagging Along with Sprague in Kentucky

Through the first four events of the 2016 Walmart FLW Tour season, Jeff Sprague finished inside the top 20 every time and challenged for the win at Beaver Lake. After stop No. 4 on Pickwick, Sprague took over the lead in the Angler of the Year race. This is the story of his first tournament as the AOY leader – stop No. 5 on Kentucky Lake. Currently, Sprague is preparing for the finale on Lake Champlain. He’s in second place in the AOY standings. READ MORE »