2014 FLW College Fishing National Championship preview

University of Louisiana-Monroe teammates Paul Clark (left) and Brett Preuett proudly display their first-place trophies after capturing the 2013 FLW College Fishing National Championship.

The last time the College Fishing National Championship was in South Carolina, Ryan Patterson of Kansas State won the title fishing solo on Lake Murray. This year, with the largest field ever, the National Championship is headed to Lake Keowee, a deep, clear lake in the Carolina foothills filled with spotted bass. With Forrest Wood Cup qualification and the National Championship title on the line, anglers will have plenty of incentive to figure Keowee out. The lake's central feature is the Oconee Nuclear Station. It sits astride the middle of the lake and the warm water it generates means that a variety of patterns can be in play at any one time. Some of the anglers who have pre-fished Keowee relate it to other places like Lake Norman or Beaver Lake but were quick to point out that there were many unique features. Lamar UniversityJustin Royal of Lamar University fished in last year's FLW College Fishing National Championship on Beaver Lake and he's returning this year with Colby Ogden, his new partner. Both Ogden and Royal have excellent records. In fact, Ogden has already notched an FLW College Fishing win in 2014 with Quinton Evans on Toledo Bend. "I've got one year of eligibility left and I was at the National Championship on Beaver Lake," said Royal. "Our main goal is to win this and make the Forrest Wood Cup. We're there to win and that's the only thing on our minds. Every college fisherman's dream is to compete on FLW's biggest stage and that's the Forrest Wood Cup." Royal and Ogden have never finished out of the top-18 in a college tournament. Listening to Royal talk about their pairing you could tell they had a lot of confidence in each other. "We think a lot alike," said Royal. "Normally if one of us is struggling the other will do really well. If one of us is slacking, the other picks up the slack." Despite the tournament being more than a week and a half away at the time, Royal and Ogden got in a week's worth of practice on a body of water that was strikingly different than their home lakes in Texas. He remarked on the fickleness of the fish and how quick they were to come and go from a spot. "There's the possibility to see some big largemouth weighed," said Royal, who thinks a total team weight of 36 to 38 pounds could be enough to secure the title. "But we were there for a week and only caught two." The opportunity to catch a big largemouth to anchor a limit of spotted bass will certainly be something that a lot of anglers look to do in the coming days. Considering the Lamar team's experience, that will be much easier said than done. Virginia Tech weighs in Virginia TechVirginia Tech has sent a team to every College Fishing National Championship since its inception but has only cracked the top-5 once. This year's representatives are John Woodward and Ricky Kassebaum. "I learned a lot about the lake during my practice," said Woodward. "I really got to learn the layout of it, which I think is key. It's very different from what I'm used to. I'm used to (fishing) somewhat deep and somewhat clear on places like Smith Mountain Lake and Claytor Lake, but nothing like this. "The fish are really nomadic, they move around a lot and it's all bait related," Woodward continued. "Because it's a power plant lake, the fish are in different stages all over the lake so it's kind of a hit-or-miss deal no matter where you go." Woodward also expressed concern that the weather might put a damper on the bite. "I've looked at the weather for the next two weeks and it's not really as conducive to them moving up as I hoped. I think a lot of the fish that could have been pulling up might get pushed off because they're going through a cold spell down there. "The National Championship is a huge deal," continued Woodward, who believes that the winning weight will come in somewhere around 42 pounds. "I really wasn't thinking about it that much. I mean, I had done my research and planned, but I really hadn't gotten that excited. But I went down there last weekend and it all came together. The past two days here at work I couldn't concentrate at all. The opportunity it provides you as an angler is amazing." Georgia Southern goes it alone Somewhat on the opposite end of the spectrum to Royal and Woodward - two anglers who are part of tested teams and spent time on the water prior to the event - Dean Mullett of Georgia Southern is fishing alone and hasn't yet practiced. Nonetheless, he expressed confidence heading into this year's event due to comfort in his abilities as well as the seasonal timing of the championship. "I feel good about fishing alone," said Mullett. "I don't really have to worry about another person's input so it's mine to lose or mine to win. I'm going to just go up and try my best and put it all in God's hands and try to catch 15 or 16 pounds a day." Hoosier hopefuls The Indiana University team of Sean Gillenwater of Bloomington, Ind., and Josh Collier of Ellettsville, Ind,, won the 2013 FLW College Fishing Central Conference Invitational on the Detroit River. Josh Collier and Sean Gillenwater are representing Indiana University on Keowee and are also one of the teams that got a chance to pre-fish. Collier and Gillenwater won the Central Conference Invitational on the Detroit River and have crammed in a lot of fishing time together despite the fact that Collier played third base instead of fishing in his first two years at Indiana. Collier addressed the long layoff between practice and the tournament head on. "We had a good trip and got a good feel for the lake and how it lays out. But it will definitely change in the two weeks since we've been on it. But, I feel like we put ourselves in a good situation for when we go back down and have to figure it out for the tournament. "We're definitely excited," continued Collier. "Keowee is a different style of lake from what we're used to, but I feel like we're going to be able to adapt and give ourselves a chance. We're in it to win it. I don't ever fish a tournament just to have fun. I'm trying to win from the moment they call my number to the moment it's time to get off the water. This is my last chance; I want to win, go fish the Forrest Wood Cup and go out with a bang." Collier also took a moment to break down a key decision that each team has to make prior to the event: namely, who would fish as a pro in the Forrest Wood Cup and who would fish as a co-angler. Despite the fact that the odds are stacked against everyone in the event, this is the closest most have come, and the closest many will come, to the Forrest Wood Cup. As such, the carrot of being able to compete in the sport's biggest year-end championship becomes more enticing with each passing day. "Sean (Gillenwater) will be the pro if we make the Forrest Wood Cup." explained Collier, who believes the 40-pound mark is where a team needs to get to in order to contend for this year's national championship title. "I'd be tickled pink to be a co-angler in the Cup. Of course it'd be nice to go fish the Forrest Wood Cup on the pro side but we talked about it and he's been on the fishing team longer and really wanted to fish on the pro side if he could." This year's national championship is set to be a lot of fun regardless of whether a veteran team or a team of first-timers brings home the title. With a 49-boat field, school spirit, a difficult Lake Keowee and the Forrest Wood Cup on the line, we're sure to see something exciting. The 2014 FLW College Fishing National Championship is presented by Lowrance Insight Genesis College Cup.The 2014 FLW College Fishing National Championship is presented by Lowrance Insight Genesis College Cup. Related links: Road to the 2014 FLW College Fishing National Championship To see a complete list of this year's qualifiers, click here. Top five teams to watch out for during the 2014 FLW College Fishing National Championship

Tags: article 

/tips/2015-05-01-walmart-bfl-tournament-preview

Walmart BFL Tournament Preview

The 2015 Walmart Bass Fishing League season will continue with six tournaments on Saturday, May 2. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-30-flw-raises-88k-for-charity

FLW Raises $88K for Charity

READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-29-20-questions-with-ray-hanselman

20 Questions with Ray Hanselman

Ray Hanselman is on fire. The Del Rio, Texas, pro won back-to-back Rayovac FLW Series Texas Division tournaments to start the 2015 season. His first win was in February on Lake Amistad, which is Hanselman’s home lake and where he runs a guide service. His second win came last week on Sam Rayburn. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-26-queen-and-black-crowned-high-school-fishing-champs

Queen and Black Crowned High School Fishing Champs

Kristopher Queen and Tyler Black of the North Carolina Student Angler Federation won the 2015 SAF High School Fishing National Championship on Oklahoma’s Grand Lake. Queen and Black bested a field of the 10 best High School Fishing teams in the two-day competition. They caught 17 pounds, 2 ounces on Saturday to make it to today’s final round of five teams in second place. Then today, the Tar Heel State’s best backed it up with 17-15 to surpass Oklahoma’s Trevor Yates and Jacob Keenom, the day-one-leaders, by 4 pounds, 6 ounces with a two-day total of 35-01. Queen and Black earned a $10,000 scholarship for their win. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-25-keenom-yates-grab-high-school-lead

Keenom, Yates Grab High School Lead

Oklahoma’s Trevor Yates and Jacob Keenom sacked a five-bass limit weighing 17 pounds, 3 ounces to top the leaderboard on day one of the Student Angler Federation High School Fishing National Championship on Grand Lake. Kristopher Queen and Tyler Black are hot on their heels in second with five bass weighing 17 pounds, 2 ounces. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-25-a-high-school-fishing-grand-finale

A High School Fishing Grand Finale

Adrenaline and optimism were running high among the 19 young guns gathered at Wolf Creek Park as they anxiously awaited takeoff on day one of the Student Angler Federation High School Fishing National Championship on Grand Lake. Set for April 25-26 on the legendary Sooner impoundment, the championship pits the nation’s top 10 two-person high school teams in an all-out bass battle for the national title and a $10,000 college scholarship. One contestant, Cameron Pappan, is fishing solo. The road to the finals began in 2014, with state and open championships leading to one of five conference finals, then ultimately to Grand Lake. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-21-weekend-wrap-up-april-21-2015

Weekend Wrap-Up – April 21, 2015

With the College Fishing National Championship and the kickoff of the Rayovac FLW Series Central Division going on, this past weekend was pretty hotly anticipated. Lucky for fishing fans, it sure lived up to the billing. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-18-grand-lake-midday-update-day-3

Grand Lake Midday Update Day 3

READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-17-grand-lake-midday-update

Grand Lake Midday Update

As the second day of competition in the Rayovac FLW Series event on Grand Lake draws on, the sight-fishing bite is still strong, but day-one leader Todd Castledine has been unable to capitalize thus far. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-16-grand-lake-day-1-midday-update

Grand Lake Day 1 Midday Update

GROVE, Okla. – After the fog delay stalled action on day one of the Central Division opener on Grand Lake the anglers are now enjoying perfect weather for sight-fishing. Lingering light fog and clouds gave way to calm, sunny conditions this afternoon. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-15-weekend-wrap-up-april-13-2015

Weekend Wrap-up – April 13, 2015

The week after the Easter break turned out to be pretty spectacular. We saw incredible feats at the Rayovac FLW Series Texas Division event on Sam Rayburn and the FLW College Fishing event on Table Rock. Plus, BFL competition was hot across the country. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-10-top-5-patterns-from-sam-rayburn-day-2

Top 5 Patterns from Sam Rayburn Day 2

Two limits of more than 20 pounds have pushed Del Rio, Texas, pro Ray Hanselman atop the leaderboard at the Rayovac FLW Series Texas Division tournament on Sam Rayburn Reservoir presented by Mercury. Hanselman is flipping and pitching plastics to flooded brush and trees, with careful consideration to the spots that allow him the best targeting efficiency. The lake level remains at a 15-year high, so anglers are chasing scattered bass in areas the fish rarely see. Overcast skies dominated the day, and isolated showers popped up throughout competition. Overall, productivity was lower than that of day one, with fewer fish and limits caught, and overall weights down. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-08-the-bucket-list

The Bucket List

Gleaned from my various fishing travels over the years, here are 10 places ­– in no particular order – that I’ve fished that I believe should definitely be on your bass fishing “bucket list.” Some are fantastic winter getaways, but other will require you to wait until warmer weather arrives. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-08-college-fishing-takes-on-table-rock

College Fishing Takes on Table Rock

KIMBERLING CITY, Mo. – FLW College Fishing is headed to Table Rock Lake April 11 for the first of three regular-season stops in the Central Conference. A full field of college teams will be competing for a top award of $2,000 and a berth in the Central Conference Championship tournament. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-08-walmart-bfl-tournament-preview

Walmart BFL Tournament Preview

The 2015 Walmart Bass Fishing League season will continue with six tournaments on Saturday, April 11. The Arkie Division will take on Lake Dardanelle, the Bama Division stops on Lake Martin, the LBL Division heads to Kentucky Lake, the Ozark Division competes on Lake of the Ozarks, the Piedmont Division opens their season on Kerr Lake and the Savannah River Division continues on Lake Hartwell. Up to 400 boaters and co-anglers will be competing for top awards of up to $8,000 and $3,000 respectively in the one-day events. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-06-hibdons-suspend-tournament-careers

Hibdons Suspend Tournament Careers

Veteran Missouri pro Guido Hibdon and his grandson, Payden, have decided to leave the ranks of the 2015 Walmart FLW Tour, but hope to resume their tournament careers in the future. Like several other pros, the Hibdons, of Sunrise Beach, Mo., were victims of cutbacks in sponsor dollars that began last fall and left many anglers scrambling for financial support just before the 2015 tournament season opened. Dion Hibdon, Guido’s son and Payden’s father, lost a major sponsorship when Chevy pulled out as an FLW backer and dissolved the Chevy fishing team to which Dion belonged. However, the Bassmaster Classic and Forrest Wood Cup champion will continue to fish the Tour. He’ll travel to tournaments with his younger son, Lawson, 18, who will fish as a co-angler. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-06-tour-talk

Tour Talk

We’re fresh off stop No. 2 of the 2015 Walmart FLW Tour season on Smith Lake, and there’s plenty to talk about in this installment of FLW’s Tour Talk, where our pundits weigh in on what’s happening along the Tour trail. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-03-strader-leads-the-aoy-pack

Strader Leads the AOY Pack

Things are starting to take shape in the Angler of the Year race too, and while another pair of veterans is atop the standings, there are some new faces emerging as well. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-04-01-kids-get-to-wet-a-line-during-lewis-smith-event

Kids Get to Wet a Line During Lewis Smith Event

The children and their families had plenty of room to spread out around the Smith Lake Dam cove, which proved to be a good place to fish as it was also the site where the FLW release boat unloaded fish caught by the pros during Friday’s round. READ MORE »

/tips/2015-03-30-high-school-anglers-fish-for-their-future

High School Anglers Fish for Their Future

High school anglers from across the Midwest braved chilly weather at Kentucky Lake Saturday in hopes of finding hot spots that would help advance them to the High School Fishing Southeastern Conference Championship on Lake Lanier this fall as well as help fund their college education. The 150 high school anglers and their coaches awoke to an unusually cold spring morning to compete in the 2015 Murray State High School Fishing Open. Frost-covered decks, gear and tackle, frozen livewells and outboards reluctant to start were among the first challenges those aboard the 75 boats had to deal with at Kentucky Dam Marina. The event honored the memory of Murray State University’s Dr. Jim Carter, one of the earliest proponents of fishing as a state-sanctioned high school sport. Teams competed for a grand prize of $4,000 in scholarships to Murray State. The scholarships were provided by Independence Bank of Murray and FLW in partnership with the Murray State Bass Anglers. READ MORE »